Home Where We Are

Where We Are

Türkiye Azerbaijan Iran Turkmenistan Uzbekistan Afghanistan Pakistan Tajikistan Kyrgyzistan Kazakhstan

ECO Region

The Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO) region consists of 10 member states: Islamic State of Afghanistan, Republic of Azerbaijan, Islamic Republic of Iran, Republic of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Islamic Republic of Pakistan, Republic of Tajikistan, Republic of Turkey, Turkmenistan and Republic of Uzbekistan.

The ECO region is geographically vast and well-endowed with potential economic resources in different fields and sectors, such as agriculture and arable land, energy and mining, human resources, and a vast strategic trading region. The ECO region as a whole posted an annual average real GDP growth rate 3.5 % over the last decade. The overall nominal GDP of the region stood at USD 2.1 trillion and real GDP grew at a clip of 4.8% at the end of 2022.

The regional countries continued to implement a range of reforms to create favourable conditions for attracting foreign direct investment (FDI) which includes improvements in investment legislation, privatization of state-owned enterprises, and liberalization of investment flows. With around 486 million inhabitants, ECO region houses around a little more than 6.1% of the world population, whereas the total trade share of the region in the world trade is close to 2%. The regional economies are continuously making efforts to promote intra-regional trade and implementing measures to improve regulatory framework in the region.